HOMS Draw- 30 Emerged Home Winner

By Precious Adi

30 people have emerged winners of different categories of home types in Lagos during the maiden of Lagos Home Ownership Mortgage Scheme at Ikeja.

Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola has restated his administration’s commitment to providing decent and affordable houses for Lagosians. Fashola said that the draw was to fulfil his promise to deliver 200 houses monthly to Lagosians in response to the acute shortage of housing in the state.

He also pointed out, that in the maiden draw, out of the 322 applicants who applied for the 200 houses on offer, 98 people met the condition to qualify to undertake the draw. He  said that the remaining 102 houses not taken, would be capitalised to the next batch making 302 houses that would be offered for balloting next month.

GovHe pointed out that the scheme would provide Lagosians an opportunity to prosper, saying that some people were cynical of the initiative; hence he needs to make the draw public and transparent.

 “The right to own the houses comes with the responsibility to pay the mortgage, and that if the winners of the houses pay their mortgages as and when due, our financial experts say that in seven years’ time, the scheme would be self-financing”. He said.

 Fashola also said that there would be a second phase of the scheme, and it would be open to the private developers who would build some of the units while the state government in turn, would buy them.

Some of the houses that were drawn include those at Iloro, Choice Garden, Abijo, Ojokoro Ijaye, Shitta Surulere, Oba Lateef Adams Estate, Agege, and Sports City amongst others.

Some of the winners of the houses included: Mrs. Saburat Owoyemi, Jubril Omotayo Omosuyi Ajayi, while those for Choice Garden, those who emerged winners include: Nasiru Abolore Lawal,Akintunde Afolayan and for Shitta, the lucky ones include: Gbenga Owolabi and Courage Nnadozie.

Winners who emerged for the Sports City scheme were: Nkiru Omeyin, Mr. and Mrs. Taiye Hassan, Amos Omoduni, Olusegun Patrick, Oluwakayode Adegboye and Bukola Lawal.