14 Journalists To Be Honoured With The Soyinka Award For Investigative Reporting

Wole soyinka awards pixThe board of judges for the 2013 Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting, led by Prof Lai Oso, Dean, Lagos State School of Communication has named 14 finalists for this year’s Soyinka Award For Investigative Reporting. They are: Elijah Olusegun of National Standard Magazine; Ayoola Kassim of Channels Television; Adeyemi Adesomoju of The Punch Newspaper; Toyosi Ogunseye of The Punch Newspaper; Ini Ekott of Premium Times; Asukwo Bassey of BusinessDay Newspaper; Tobore Ovuorie of Premium Times; Temiloluwa Bamgbose of Flair Nigeria; Ruona Agbroko-Meyer of Premium Times; Stanley Ogidi of The Punch; Aderonke Ogunleye of Premium Times; Temitayo Famutimi of The Punch; Bassey Udo of Premium Times and Ese Grage of Flair Nigeria.

The two honorary awards; the Lifetime award for journalistic excellence and the Anti-corruption defender award will be presented to Ms. Amma Ogan, first female editor at the Guardian and Dr. Chidi Odinkalu, Chair of the National Human Rights Commission, respectively.

Amma Ogan is being honoured with the Lifetime award for journalistic excellence for her invaluable contribution to media excellence in Nigeria while the Anti-corruption defender award is being awarded Chidi Odinkalu for his integrity, hard work, unconcealed crusade for the enthronement of human rights and his dogged stance against corruption.

Winners, runners-up and commended works will be announced at a public award presentation ceremony scheduled for Monday 9 December 2013 at the NECA main hall, opposite Afrika Shrine, Agidingbi, Ikeja Lagos at 5pm.

Professor Wole Soyinka, WSCIJ’s Grand Patron; Dr. Andrew Pocock, the British High Commissioner to Nigeria; Hon Rotimi Amaechi, Rivers State Governor; Prof Ropo Sekoni, WSCIJ Board Chair are some of the guests expected at the event which is supported with funding from the Rivers State Government and the British High Commission.

The Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting was first held in October, 2005 to encourage the development of an investigative tradition in the Nigerian media through rigorous scrutiny of human rights violations, regulatory failures and corruption in the public and corporate sectors of the nation’s life and has so far rewarded 59 finalists.