Maureen Chigbo re-elected GOCOP president, 14 other NEC members too

Alongside Chigbo's re-election as GOCOP President are other re-elected NEC members including Mr Danlami Nmodu, mni as the Deputy President

Maureen Chigbo, President, GOCOP
Maureen Chigbo – President, Guild of Corporate Online Publishers of Nigeria (GOCOP)

Ms. Maureen Chigbo, the publisher of Realnews has been re-elected as president of the Guild of Corporate Online Publishers (GOCOP). Chigbo was re-elected alongside 14 other members of the National Executive Committee (NEC) for another two years.

President Chigbo was initially elected in 2021 and she took over from the publisher of The Eagle Online, Mr. Dotun Oladipo who completed his two terms in office as president.

With this development, Maureen Chigbo who is the fourth President of GOCOP is on her second term following a successful 7th Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Wednesday, October 4, at the Abuja Continental Hotel, formerly Sheraton, Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja.

Alongside Chigbo’s re-election as GOCOP President are other re-elected NEC members including Mr Danlami Nmodu, mni as the Deputy President, Mr Ken Ugbechie as Vice President, South; and Mr Tom Chaiheman as the Vice President, North; Mr Collins Edomaruse returned as General Secretary, likewise Mr Olumide Iyanda as Deputy General-Secretary.

GOCOP Confab’23: Local fuel production will lift Naira – Uwaleke

Equally returned were Remmy Nweke as Publicity Secretary, Azuh Arinze as Financial Secretary, and Mrs Yemisi Izuora as the Treasurer.

Additionally at the AGM, Messrs Max Amuchie, Horatius Egua, James Ume; Akeem Oyetunji; Raymond Ukaegbu and Tony Edike were elected Zonal Coordinators for the North Central; North East, North West, South West, South-South and South East in that order.

Speaking after the re-election on behalf of her NEC for another term, Maureen Chigbo appreciated GOCOP members for the confidence on her team, pledging they will strive to deliberately position GOCOP for continuous growth and recognition in the market place.

Maureen Chigbo, President, GOCOP
L-R: Prof. Ishaq Oloyede, JAMB Registrar, Mr. Mohammed Idris Malagi, Minister for Information and Orientation and Ms. Maureen Chigbo at the GOCOP event in Abuja

The 2023 GOCOP Election Committee was chaired by Yusuf Ozi-Usman, publisher of Greenberg Reporters while Victoria Ibanga of NewEdition was the Secretary.

Other members of the committee include Dr. Monday Ashibogwu of QuickNews; Kemi Yesufu of Frontline News Online, and Barr. Afolabi Odeyemi of YouNews as Legal Adviser.
GOCOP, a registered non-governmental, non-partisan, non-profit organisation, comprises owners of online publications.

Other members of GOCOP National Executive Committee (NEC) stepped out to take oath of office for their second term till 2025.

The newly re-elected NEC was inaugurated on Thursday, October 5, 2023 in Abuja at the ceremony witnessed by the chairman of this year’s conference, Prof. Ishaq Oloyede, the Registrar of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB).