CAF Releases Shortlist For African Footballer Of The Year Award 2013


By Amaka Akachukwu

APOTY Nominees

The Confederation of African Football, CAF, has released the shortlist for the 2013 African Player of the Year award. Four Nigerian players have been included in the 10-man list for the 2013 African football of the year award.

Mikel Obi, Vincent Enyeama, Ahmed Musa and Emmanuel Emenike are the Nigerians that made the cut in the ten-man list that has reigning Africa’s best player Yaya Toure of Cote d’Ivoire.

Twenty five players were initially shortlisted for the awards before it was then brought down to 10 players after series of votes from members of the Technical & Development and the Media Committees.

Head coaches affiliated to CAF will vote in order of their choice to decide on the eventual winner.

The winners will be announced at the GLO-CAF Awards Gala scheduled to hold on Thursday, January 9, 2014 in Lagos, Nigeria.

See final list of nominees:

1 Ahmed Musa – CSKA Moscow, Nigeria

2 Yaya Toure – Manchester City, Cote D’Ivoire

3 John Mikel Obi – Chelsea, Nigeria

4 Jonathan Pitroipa – Stade Rennes, Burkina Faso

5 Emmanuel Emenike – Fernabahce, Nigeria

6 Didier Drogba – Galatasaray, Cote D’Ivoire

7 Asamoah Gyan – Al Ain, Ghana

8 Mohammed Aboutrika – Al Ahly, Egypt

9 Pierre- Emerick Aubameyang – Borussia Dortmund, Gabon

10 Vincent Enyeama – Lille, Nigeria