Okei-Odumakin urges Lagos Assembly to give reasons for rejecting 17 commissioner-nominees

Mr Mudashiru Obasa, Speaker Lagos State House of Assembly
Okei-odumakin urges lagos assembly to give reasons for rejecting 17 commissioner-nominees
Mr mudashiru obasa, speaker lagos state house of assembly

Dr. Joe Okei-Odumakin, a Human Rights Activist, on Tuesday urged the Lagos State House of Assembly (LSHA) to make public its reason for not confirming the appointments of 17 commissioner-nominees.

Okei-Odumakin, also the President of Women Arise, said in Lagos that LSHA needed to clear the air by making its findings public on why the nominees were rejected.

BRANDPOWER recalls that the assembly on Wednesday at plenary rejected 17 commissioner-nominees including former Commissioner for Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi and Commissioner for Information, Mr Gbenga Omotosho.

Other nominees rejected include: Mrs Folashade Adefisayo, Mr Yomi Oluyomi, Mrs Folashade Ambrose, Ms Barakat Bakare, Olalere Odusote, Dr Rotimi Fashola and Mrs Bolaji Dada.

Others are Mr Sam Egube, Mr Olalekan Fatodu, Mrs Solape Hammond, Mr Mosopefolu George, Mrs Aramide Adeyoye, Mr Seun Osiyemi, Mr Rotimi Ogunwuyi and Dr Olumide Oluyinka.

The activist cautioned the House of Assembly not to politicise the confirmation of commissioner-nominees.

She said that politicising the confirmation of appointments of commissioner-nominees would impact the service delivery of the appointees.

She said: “In order to clear the air, the House will be fair in the eyes of the public by making its findings on the nominees that were rejected known.

“There is already a public perception that the legislative arm of the State is at loggerheads with the executive.

“Such a rejection is an unprecedented development in Lagos since 1999.

“So by making the findings public, it will instill public confidence and trust in our lawmakers.”

BRANDPOWER recalls that the lawmakers, however, confirmed 22 other commissioner-nominees of the state governor.

The exercise, which was done through a voice vote, was sequel to the screening of the nominees at the assembly’s Committee of the Whole at plenary.

The speaker, Mr Mudashiru Obasa, who presided over it, said the exercise followed a rigorous and detailed screening of the nominees by an ad-hoc committee led by the Chief Whip, Mr Fatai Mojeed.